If you remove AdBlock from Chrome (by the way, here's how to do that) and it KEEPS COMING BACK, this is most likely an issue with Chrome sync, not AdBlock. You have probably signed in to Chrome on that computer. Signing in to Chrome allows you to use your settings, bookmarks, extensions, and browsing history across all of your signed-in devices through your Google account. If you delete an extension but it's back when you sign in to Chrome again, it's being reinstalled from the synced data in your Google account.


By the way, you can test this. Make sure AdBlock is still installed. Open an incognito window or create a new user in Chrome. If AdBlock is not in the extensions bar, then a sync issue is the culprit. (If AdBlock is there, then the issue is something other than syncing and you should report it to us.)


When you have a sync issue without an error message, such an extension that won't die, first try recreating your user profile. If that doesn't permanently get rid of the zombie extension, try resetting sync. If even that doesn't work, you can try removing yourself entirely from Chrome. The latter two steps are explained in detail in this Chrome Help article on signing out of Chrome and deleting a synced account. Here are the basics.


Note: All of your synced data will still be in your Google account. However, it's always a good idea to back up your Chrome bookmarks before you proceed.


Recreate your Chrome user profile

If your user profile is corrupted, you can create a new one to replace the broken one.

  1. Right-click the AdBlock button in Chrome's extensions bar and select Remove from Chrome, then Remove.
  2. Create a new user profile
  3. On the Chrome menu, select Exit (Windows) or Quit (Mac).
  4. Restart Chrome. 

Is AdBlock still gone? Great! You're all set. If it's back, keep going.


Stop and clear synced data (reset sync)

This stops sync on all of your devices, but leaves your Chrome data on them.

  1. Make sure you're signed in to your Google Account. 
  2. Right-click the AdBlock button in Chrome's extensions bar and select Remove from Chrome, then Remove. 
  3. Open your Google Dashboard
  4. Select Reset sync, then OK.
  5. On the Chrome menu, select Exit (Windows) or Quit (Mac).
  6. Restart Chrome. 

Is AdBlock still gone? Great! You're all set. If it's back, keep going.


Remove your user account entirely from Chrome

This will erase all of your Chrome data from the device. This action can't be undone. However, you'll get your synced data the next time you sign in to Chrome.

  1. Right-click the AdBlock button in Chrome's extensions bar and select Remove from Chrome, then Remove.
  2. In the top-right corner of the browser window, click the button for the current user and select Switch person.
  3. Mouse over your user card, click the down arrow, and select Remove this person, then confirm when prompted.
  4. If Chrome doesn't exit on its own, on the Chrome menu, select Exit (Windows) or Quit (Mac).
  5. Restart Chrome.
AdBlock still gone? Whew, great! You're all set.

If it's back, please tell us. There is something else going on and we'll need to dig a little deeper to find it.


Bonus note: if you're having other problems with sync, Google has help to troubleshoot sync error messages too!


A note about synced extensions in Chrome

If you are signed in to Chrome through your Google account and have Chrome syncing turned on, then when you open Chrome on a different computer, AdBlock Premium and any other extensions you installed on other computers where you were signed in to Chrome will be automatically installed.


Automatically having the same extensions, bookmarks, saved passwords, and so on, on every computer you use is the greatest benefit of using Chrome sync. However, once you turn on Chrome sync, any change you make on any computer where you're signed in to Chrome is copied on all computers where you're signed in to Chrome.


This implies two things you should be aware of.


1. What happens in Las Vegas doesn't stay in Las Vegas

If you open Chrome and discover that AdBlock Premium has vanished, the first thing to check is whether you have recently used Chrome on another computer. If you have, you may have uninstalled AdBlock Premium there. That would uninstall it on every other computer where you are signed in to Chrome (and it could happen nearly instantaneously!).


If this happens, just reinstall AdBlock Premium following the instructions under "Initial installation" and "I have an activation code" above. It will be reinstalled automatically on other computers the next time you sign in to Chrome on them.


2. Backups can save you from yourself

If you use AdBlock Premium Gold sync, any change you make to your settings, filter list subscriptions, and custom filters on one synced computer will be copied to any other computer where you have enabled AdBlock Premium Gold sync. Syncing isn't instantaneous, but if you make a mistake, you probably won't have time to catch it before it's reflected everywhere.


This isn't usually a major issue. Just subscribe to the same filter lists again and let AdBlock Premium Gold sync them up for you. If you have dozens of custom filters, however, accidentally deleting all of them could be a disaster. For this reason, we strongly recommend that you periodically copy your custom filters to a text file for safekeeping. Even better, you can turn them into your own personal filter list.