AdBlock coming back after uninstalling in Chrome

If you remove AdBlock from Chrome and it keeps coming back, you're most likely running into an issue with Chrome's sync feature. You have probably signed in to Chrome on that computer. Signing in to Chrome allows you to use your settings, bookmarks, extensions, and browsing history across all of your signed-in devices through your Google account. If you delete an extension but it's back when you sign in to Chrome again, it's being reinstalled from the synced data in your Google account.


When you have a sync issue without an error message, such as an extension that won't uninstall, here's what you can try:


Recreate Chrome Profile

  1. Right-click the AdBlock button in Chrome's extensions bar and select Remove from Chrome, then Remove
  2. Create a new user profile.
  3. On the Chrome menu, select Exit (Windows) or Quit (Mac)
  4. Restart Chrome

Is AdBlock still gone? Great! You're all set. If it's back, keep going.


Reset Chrome Sync

This stops sync on all of your devices, but leaves your Chrome data on them.

  1. Make sure you're signed in to your Google Account
  2. Right-click the AdBlock button in Chrome's extensions bar and select Remove from Chrome, then Remove
  3. Open your Google Dashboard
  4. Select Reset sync, then OK
  5. On the Chrome menu, select Exit (Windows) or Quit (Mac)
  6. Restart Chrome

Is AdBlock still gone? Great! You're all set. If it's back, keep going.


Remove User Account From Chrome

This will erase all of your Chrome data from the device. This action can't be undone. However, you'll get your synced data the next time you sign in to Chrome.

  1. Right-click the AdBlock button in Chrome's extensions bar and select Remove from Chrome, then Remove
  2. In the top-right corner of the browser window, click the button for the current user and select Switch person
  3. Mouse over your user card, click the down arrow, and select Remove this person, then confirm when prompted
  4. If Chrome doesn't exit on its own, on the Chrome menu, select Exit (Windows) or Quit (Mac)
  5. Restart Chrome


Did you find it helpful? Yes No

Send feedback
Sorry we couldn't be helpful. Help us improve this article with your feedback.